Retiring After 37 Years

 

„Oh, well, what should I say? I’m simply lost to the charm of instrumentation and control technology,” says Elmar Staudt, “and that somehow started quite early with me.“ Today, after 43 years of working life, he is a technician in instrumentation and control at thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH in Andernach. To be correct, he is actually an expert for measurement technology in the team “Degreasing/Annealing/Continuous Annealing”.

thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH is Germany’s only manufacturer of tin plate. At the largest production site for packaging steel worldwide, it produces super-thin tin-plated or special chrome-plated strip in Andernach for, for example, food cans or aerosol packaging.

Rasselstein GmbH attaches a great deal of importance to the quality of the products of thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH. Perfect quality control is no longer possible today without precise and reliable online measuring Systems.

Staudt mainly monitors the continuous annealing furnaces 3-5. Furnace 3 gave cause for concern at the beginning of this year. The two thickness meters at the uncoiler of the continuous annealing furnace no. 3 had performed duty reliably for 37 years. Staudt: “They had become a little old in the meantime.” These thickness meters stemmed originally from Hartmann & Braun AG, the predecessors of IMS Messsysteme GmbH, and the last adjustments were made by the technicians from Heiligenhaus in 1981.

In February 2016 IMS delivered a new measuring system to the tin-plate manufacturers in Andernach, especially adapted to their space requirements. The two new isotope thickness gauges in the two levels of the uncoiler at the continuous annealing furnace no. 3 were integrated in a new E-frame. “For IMS that was no problem,” says Staudt in surprise.

Before installation of the modern thickness meters the technicians of thyssenkrupp had the possibility to convince themselves in the test bay at IMS in Heiligenhaus of how the measuring system would later work. To top it all, IMS finished installation and commissioning in Andernach one day earlier than planned. “You have to go a long way to find such service,” says Staudt in his admiration of the new measuring System.

The Long Road From Mechanical Relay to Highly Modern Measuring System

The continuous annealing furnace was built back in the 1970s and was the first of its kind in Europe at the time. Elmar Staudt remembers: “We did not want to give our customers the first forty to fifty metres of a coil because they did not meet our requirements. With the help of the isotope thickness meter at the uncoiler, we were then able to monitor our thickness tolerances.”

„You have to go a long way to find such service“,

says Staudt in his admiration of the new measuring system.

IMG_1819

Regarding isotopes, the americium isotope sources used have a half-life of around 432 years: “So we could have used them for several hundred years still,” says Staudt in appraising the isotope source. But, the German Federal Agency for Radiation Protection inspects the measuring system every year. After more than 30 years, the tightness of the isotope capsules was no longer given. Elmar Staudt was regularly involved in every inspection of the measuring system by the Federal Agency for Radiation Protection because he is also the company’s radiation protection officer. “Believe me, I take these things very seriously,” he tells everyone who asks him for his duties.

He is proud of furnace “3” with the new thickness gauges. “Top hats for what IMS has done,” says he. “The way this project worked, everyone wants.”

Much has become simpler today, because everything is manufactured in module technology and better and easier diagnostics are possible at the measuring systems.

When Elmar Staudt started his apprenticeship at Rasselstein back in 1973, there was no thought of such convenience. “It rattled audibly when the mechanical relays switched,” he says. The name of the job he learnt changed between mechanical technician to electrical technician and at some time to electrical-mechanical technician. One year later the occupation changed, and the mechanics dwindled into the background. Staudt was then “Information Devices Mechanic”, which then changed to “Information Electronics Technician”. Elmar continued to educate himself until someone said: “An electrician that can connect a motor can also do instrumentation and control.” A long way from the rattling relay to technician and radiation protection officer category B. He is proud of furnace “3” with the new thickness gauges. “Top hats for what IM has done,” says he. “The way this project worked, everyone wants.

At the moment, however, he is more concerned about the new toy car race track for his grandson: “We measure and control very exactly,” he says. He is, after all, keen on instrumentation and control from the bottom up.

Nach 37 Jahren in den Ruhestand

 

„Tja – was soll ich sagen? Ich bin einfach dem Charme der Mess- und Regeltechnik erlegen“, sagt Elmar Staudt, „und das hat bei mir irgendwie ganz früh angefangen.“ Er ist heute, nach 43 Berufsjahren, Techniker der Mess- und Regeltechnik bei der thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH in Andernach. Richtig müsste es eigentlich heißen, dass er Experte Messtechnik für die „Teams Entfetten/Glühen/Durchlaufglühen“ ist.

Die thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH ist Deutschlands einziger Weißblechhersteller. Am weltweit größten Produktionsstandort für Verpackungsstahl produzieren sie in Andernach verzinntes oder spezialverchromtes Feinstblech für beispielsweise Lebensmitteldosen oder Aerosolverpackungen.

Qualität wird bei den Produkten der thyssenkrupp Rasselstein GmbH ganz groß geschrieben und ohne präzise und zuverlässige Online-Messsysteme ist eine 100%ige Qualitätskontrolle heute nicht mehr möglich.

Staudt überwacht hauptsächlich die Durchlaufglühöfen 3-5 und an der Nr. 3 da gab es Anfang des Jahres einiges zu tun. Die beiden Dickenmesser am Abwickelteil des Durchlaufglühofens Nr. 3 taten seit 37 Jahren treu ihren Dienst. Staudt: „Aber die waren natürlich mittlerweile in die Jahre gekommen.“ Ursprünglich waren die Dickenmesser sogar noch von der Hartmann & Braun AG geliefert worden, aus der die IMS Messsysteme GmbH hervorgegangen ist und die Techniker aus Heiligenhaus hatten 1981 die letzte Anpassung vorgenommen.

Im Februar 2016 lieferte die IMS mit kurzer Lieferzeit ein neues, speziell auf den zur Verfügung stehenden Platz angepasstes Messsystem an den Weißblechhersteller aus Andernach. Die beiden neuen Isotopendickenmessungen in den beiden Ebenen des Abwickelteils am Durchlaufglühofen Nr. 3 wurden in einem neu designten E-Messbügel integriert. „Für IMS war das kein Problem“, bestätigt Staudt bewundernd.

Vor dem Einbau der modernen Dickenmesser konnten sich die Techniker von thyssenkrupp im Prüffeld der IMS in Heiligenhaus davon überzeugen, wie das Messsystem später arbeiten wird. Und die IMS sei bei der Montage und anschließender Inbetriebnahme in Andernach auch noch einen Tag früher fertiggeworden als geplant. „Also, so einen Service sucht wirklich seinesgleichen“, sagt Staudt überzeugt und bewundert das neue Messsystem.

 

Der lange Weg vom mechanischen Relais zur hochmodernen Messanlage

Bereits Ende der 70er Jahre war der Durchlaufglühofen Nr. 3 gebaut worden und seinerzeit einer der ersten überhaupt in Europa. Elmar Staudt erinnert sich noch genau: „Die ersten vierzig bis fünfzig Meter eines Coils wollten wir dem Kunden nicht geben, sie entsprachen schon damals nicht unseren Anforderungen. Mit Hilfe der Isotopen-Dickenmesser im Abwickelteil konnten wir aber dann unsere Dickentoleranzen überwachen.“

„Also, so einen Service sucht wirklich seinesgleichen“,

sagt Staudt überzeugt und bewundert das neue Messsystem.

IMG_1819

Apropos Isotopen – die verwendeten Americium-Isotopenstrahler haben eine Halbwertzeit von rund 432 Jahren. „Wir hätten die also noch mehrere hundert Jahre verwenden können“ bewertet Staudt schmunzelnd die Isotopenstrahler. Aber – das Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz überprüfe jedes Jahr die Messanlage. Nach mehr als dreißig Jahren war die Dichtigkeit der Isotopenkapseln schließlich nicht mehr auf Dauer gegeben. Bei der Überprüfung der Messanlage durch das Bundesamt für Strahlenschutz war Elmar Staudt regelmäßig beteiligt, denn er ist schließlich auch  „Strahlenschutzbeauftragte Kat. B“: „Sie können mir glauben – das nehme ich sehr ernst“, sagt er jedem, der nach seinen Pflichten fragt.

Er ist stolz auf die Produktionsanlage „D-Ofen 3“ mit den neuen Dickenmessstellen.
„Hut ab vor dem, was IMS geleistet hat“, sagt er bewundernd, „eine solche Projektabwicklung wünscht man sich.“

Vieles sei heute einfacher geworden, da jetzt alles in Modultechnik gefertigt würde und bessere und schnellere Diagnosen an den Messsystemen möglich seien.

Als Elmar Staudt mit seiner Ausbildung bei Rasselstein, im Jahre 1973, angefangen hatte, war an einen solchen „Komfort“ noch nicht zu denken. „Das klapperte noch hörbar, wenn die mechanischen Relais schalteten.“ So war der Name seines erlernten Berufes auch zwischen Mechanik und Elektro – eben der Elektromechaniker. 1 Jahr später änderte sich dann auch schon das Berufsbild und die Mechanik trat mehr in den Hintergrund. Staudt war jetzt „Nachrichtengerätemechaniker“ und daraus wurde dann der „Informationselektroniker.“ Elmar Staudt bildete sich immer weiter und schließlich, so sagte man ihm: „Ein Elektriker, der einen Motor anschließen kann, der kann auch Messtechnik.“ Ein weiter Weg von den klackenden Relais zum Techniker und Strahlenschutzbeauftragten Kat. B.

Aber jetzt konzentriere er sich erst einmal auf die neue Carrera-Bahn für seinen zweiten Enkel: „Da wird auch ordentlich gemessen und geregelt.“ Er ist halt mit Leidenschaft Mess- und Regeltechniker.