PROOF OF TRUST

Some success Stories have a inconspicuous start. Following the insolvency and closure of the HANBO STEEL PLANT (Dangjin, Korea) in 2004, Hyundai Steel stepped in and turned operations around in an unbelievable feat of engineering and logistical achievement.

“It was very cold and snowing in winter 2004 when Mr. Busch and I visited Hyundai Steel the first time in order to determine the current status of installed equipment and stored spare parts. Many lines had not been erected completely, so we had to look for the crates with our gauges. This was the first time, Mr. Sang-Pyo Kim (Hyundai Steel) and we met personally. A long partnership started, joint freezing and working welds together.” remembers Sang-Hoon Jin, General Manager, IMS Korea.

After very short time Hyundai started the production. With an unbelievable consequence Hyundai has enhanced its steel facility in Dangjin to one of the most modern locations of steel worldwide. Continuous improvement and optimization is Hyundai’s commitment. Therefore a new x-ray thickness gauge for its B-Hot Strip Mill was ordered from IMS. It replaced the last third-party gauge in this line. From then on all major gauges used in the hot rolling mill B were from IMS.

v.l.n.r.: Sang-Pyo Kim – Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel & Jörg Busch – General Manager Global Sales, IMS

from left: Sang-Pyo Kim – Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel & Jörg Busch – General Manager Global Sales, IMS

In the first week of May seven of Hyundai’s engineers enjoyed training at IMS’ CTC (Competence & Training Center). Beside class room training, practical exercises on the new x-ray gauge took place. Very interesting for both parties was the exchange of ideas and probable solutions for upcoming measuring tasks respectively non-solved challenges.

Finally the Factory Acceptance Test was completed successfully. The visit was rounded down by a joint dinner.

“We trust in IMS. They provide excellent service in Korea. This combined with their very reliable and accurate gauging systems guarantees Hyundai’s success” says Mr. Sang-Pyo Kim, Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel.

»We trust in IMS. They provide excellent service in Korea. This combined with their very reliable and accurate gauging systems guarantees Hyundai’s success.«


Sang-Pyo Kim, Deputy General Manager,
HSM, Hyundai Steel

Vertrauensbeweis

Einige Erfolgsgeschichten starten unscheinbar. Nachdem Hyundai Steel im Jahr 2004 den Kauf des insolventen und geschlossenen Hanbo Steel Walzwerks (Dangjin, Korea) bekannt gab, konnte eine Meisterleistung an Engineering und Logistik in Gang gesetzt werden.

“Es war eiskalt und schneite im Winter 2004 als Herr Busch und ich Hyundai Steel zum ersten Mal besuchten um den Zustand der installierten Messsysteme und gelagerten Ersatzteile zu ermitteln. Viele Anlagen waren noch nicht komplett montiert, wir mussten erst die Kisten mit unseren Messsystemen in riesigen Hallen suchen. Es war das erste Mal, dass wir Herrn Sang-Pyo Kim (Hyundai Steel) begegneten. Eine lange Partnerschaft startete, gemeinsames Frieren und Arbeiten schweißen zusammen“ erinnert sich Sang-Hoon Jin, Geschäftsführer von IMS Korea.

Nach sehr kurzer Zeit nahm Hyundai die Produktion auf. Mit unglaublicher Konsequenz erweiterte Hyundai sein Stahlwerk zu einem der modernsten Stahlstandorte weltweit. Ständige Verbesserung und Optimierung ist für Hyundai Pflicht. Daher wurde ein neuer Dickenmesser mit Röntgentechnologie für das Warmwalzwerk B bei IMS bestellt. Er ersetzte den letzten Dickenmesser eines Wettbewerbers in dieser Linie. Von da an wurden alle wichtigen Messsysteme im Warmwalzwerk B von IMS eingesetzt.

v.l.n.r.: Sang-Pyo Kim – Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel & Jörg Busch – General Manager Global Sales, IMS

v.l.n.r.: Sang-Pyo Kim – Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel & Jörg Busch – General Manager Global Sales, IMS

In der ersten Maiwoche nahmen sieben Ingenieure von Hyundai an einer Schulung in dem Kompetenz- und Schulungszentrum bei IMS teil. Neben der theoretischen Schulung fanden auch praktische Übungen am neuen Dickenmesssystem statt. Für beide Seiten sehr interessant war der Austausch von Ideen und möglichen Lösungen für zukünftige Messaufgaben beziehungsweise ungelöste Herausforderungen.

Zum Schluss wurde ein Abnahmetest erfolgreich durchgeführt. Ein gemeinsames Abendessen rundete den Besuch ab.

„Wir vertrauen IMS. Sie liefern exzellenten Service in Korea. Dieses kombiniert mit sehr zuverlässigen und genauen Messsystemen, garantiert Hyundais Erfolg“ sagt Herr Sang-Pyo Kim, Deputy General Manager, HSM, Hyundai Steel.

»Wir vertrauen IMS. Sie liefern exzellenten Service in Korea. Dieses kombiniert mit sehr zuverlässigen und genauen Messsystemen garantiert Hyundais Erfolg.«


Sang-Pyo Kim,
Deputy General Manager,
HSM, Hyundai Steel