IMS Messsysteme GmbH, the world market leader in measuring systems for the rolling industry, is introducing a consistent PLM (Product Lifecycle Management) system as basis for implementation of a Industry 4.0 concept. Of special importance to us in this, is our collaboration with ComputerKomplett ASCAD GmbH and EPLAN Software & Service GmbH to implement a mechatronic approach throughout the company.

CEO1-REF

»It is important not to stand still, but to see the combination of experience and history with new digital possibilities as a chance. Today, IMS is already working with foresight on the issues and challenges that the fourth industrial revolution have brought about.«

Rainer Fackert
CEO, IMS Messsysteme GmbH

Therefore, as a first strategic measure, we are introducing, amongst other software, PTC Creo / Windchill as MCAD/PLM tools and EPLAN P8 as ECAD tool in our design and project management departments. To shorten throughput times, we are developing a parametric module system for the design department so that customer-specific product adaptations can be implemented integrally and efficiently. This will also improve cooperation between the individual design disciplines and herald a change to drawing-free production.

»The elementary goals of this project are to reduce order throughput times, improve product information throughout the lifecycle and attain a high level of automation.«

Benjamin Wagner
Project Leader of Basic Mechatronic Development, IMS Messsysteme GmbH

WAGNER-REF

With the benefit of the digital knowledge learnt from the development process, we will be able in the second step to furnish the service department with extended information on our products so that they can offer customer-specific services even more efficiently than before.

Die IMS Messsysteme GmbH, Weltmarktführer für Messsysteme in der Walzwerkindustrie, führt ein durchgängiges PLM-Systems (Product Lifecycle Management) als Grundlage für die Implementierung eines Industrie 4.0-Konzepts ein. Von besonderer Bedeutung für uns hierbei ist die Zusammenarbeit mit der ComputerKomplett ASCAD GmbH und EPLAN Software & Service GmbH zur Umsetzung einer durchgehenden mechatronischen Arbeitsweise.

CEO1-REF

»Es kommt darauf an, nicht in Trägheit zu verfallen, sondern die Kombination aus Erfahrung und Historie mit neuen digitalen Möglichkeiten als Chance zu verstehen. Mit Weitsicht arbeitet die IMS schon heute an den Fragestellungen und Herausforderungen, die die vierte industrielle Revolution mit sich bringt«

Rainer Fackert
Geschäftsführung, IMS Messsysteme GmbH

Als erste strategische Maßnahmen werden deshalb unteranderem PTC Creo / Windchill als MCAD/PLM-Werkzeuge sowie EPLAN P8 als ECAD-Werkzeug in den Bereichen Konstruktion und Projektabwicklung eingeführt. Zur Verkürzung der Durchlaufzeiten wird hierbei für die Konstruktion ein parametrischer Modulbaukasten entwickelt, mit dem kundenspezifische Produktanpassungen ganzheitlich und effizient umgesetzt werden können. Dies schließt auch die Verbesserung der Zusammenarbeit zwischen den einzelnen Konstruktionsdisziplinen und den Umstieg auf eine papierlose Fertigung mit ein.

»Die Reduzierung der Auftragsdurchlaufzeiten, die Verbesserung der Produktinformation im gesamten Lebenszyklus und das Erlangen eines hohen Automatisierungsgrades sind die elementaren Ziele dieses Projektes.«

Benjamin Wagner
Projektleiter technisch-mechatronische Basis, IMS Messsysteme GmbH

WAGNER-REF

Mit dem Mehr an digitalem Wissen aus dem Entstehungsprozess können wir im zweiten Schritt den Service mit erweiterten Informationen zu den Produkten ausstatten, um noch effizientere Dienstleistungen kundenspezifisch anbieten zu können.